Weekend Update

My holiday weekend started, for the most part, last Thursday. My mother had surgery so I was out of the office all day. It was just a routine surgery and she should recover just fine, but was in a lot of pain. She had an overnight stay and got out on Friday afternoon. Everyone else had to work on Friday, and knowing that my office has been slow and unpaid time off has been very regular, I went to work for one hour on Friday morning and ended up with the rest of the day off. So I was the one who waited in the hospital for the dr. to release mom.

Saturday I was supposed to go to a wedding 3 hours from home, but because mom was in so much pain, I decided to forgo the wedding and spend the day at home. I did go to visit my cousins’ house on Sunday and go out to lunch with them. My cousin’s daughter is ADORABLE!!! I love her. They’re expecting another baby in August. My other cousin works for in the same financial field that I do, so she works for my competitor. She says she is always busy at work and they are offering overtime. This makes me wonder if maybe I should change companies? I’m not fully vested in my 401k or my pension yet, so I don’t really want to leave. But if I can work for a competitor and be busy and get paid overtime, that would be very beneficial. However, if I were to leave for this other company, I would have to move 2 hours from my parents and would have to start paying rent somewhere. This seems counterproductive to me. Why move to make more money, when I’d just be shelling out said money for rent? Doesn’t make much sense in the long run, but I do eventually want to move to “The Big City” again and have more opportunities.

Monday, I ran a few errands with my mom and then did practically nothing. Lazy I know, but if felt good.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Great post. Thanks for the helpfull info one again. I have become a great fan of your blog. Keep up the good work


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

