Weekend Overview

Saturday I went to my family’s friend’s wedding. It was a very nice ceremony, the dresses were beautiful, & the reception was fun. The wedding cake was awesome & the dinner was good too. But all-in-all, I still don’t like the fact that I spent all my “left-over” money on a dress & shoes. I get paid this coming Friday. Until then I have $6.80 in my checking account. How pathetic??!?!?! I was able to get gas on Sunday while I was working at the convience store, but gas prices have gone back up. It was up about $0.11 from the last time I fueled up. Completely disgusting if you ask me. Even though the gas prices move upward, I was still busy with plenty of customers. It amazes me. I didn’t have one single no-spend day this weekend either.

Today I went to the gym & then went to Wal-Mart with my mom. Again I ended up spending money, but I needed a few groceries. I’m not much of a morning person & I don’t really have time to cook. So I prefer to just eat cereal for breakfast while I’m getting ready for work. I also needed a few apples for snacks through out the week. My mom suggested that I try to slowly lessen my Diet Mountain Dew intake by buying some juice instead. Therefore I bought a container of Ocean Spray Light Cran-Grape Juice. But Wal-Mart did have 6pk Pepsi products for 2/$3.00, so I ended up buying some. I know that pop (or soda as some call it) can cost quite bit if you’re drinking enough. I really should cut back. If I replaced every other can of pop with water, I could put the money towards my debt.  Another thing that would help save money is if I went to cash only. It’s so easy to lose track of the money I spend when swiping my debit card. Starting this Friday, I’ll start carrying cash instead of my card. We’ll see if that makes a difference in my spending.

Another thing to consider is the electricity bill & water bill. I’ve started slacking on making sure things that are not in use are not plugged in. I need to go back to making a conscious effort to unplug everything I can. I also need to stop taking baths. This is going to kill me because I LOVE baths. However it really is such a waste of money. Also there’s something wrong with our toilet. It keeps running long after the tank has filled. We either have to sit there & wait for it to fill & then pull the lever-thing up, or forget about it & the water runs forever! That’s another huge waste of water. Hopefully there’s a cheap & easy way to fix it.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    A friend of mine just emailed me one of your articles from a while back. I read that one a few more. Really enjoy your blog. Thanks


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

