What I’ve Spent

Since I finally decided to start keeping track of my spending, in order to start “Debt-Proofing” my life; I’ve realized I spend money almost everyday. It’s usually small amounts, but they all add up. The days I spend the most are obviously payday because payday is the day I pay all my main expenses. I started keeping trackas of Nov. 8th and it’s been tough. It really takes quite a bit of thought to write down every purchase, every bill, every anything, but I’ve been doing it. It feels good to see where all my money is going. I know tracking my spending will do me a lot of good in the long run. I’ve been meaning to set up a budget for so long; and now I’m finally going to.

So far, I’ve only had two No Spend Days. Although this depresses me, I know that the longer I keep track of things, the more No Spend Days I will eventually start to see. Right now I’m just trying to get a handle on tracking where the money goes. But I will keep trying for those No Spend Days. Generally the weekends seem to better canidates for me. This is due to the fact that I’ve stopped going out on weekends. I’d rather spend my time at home with my family and my dogs.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    mikewalzman said,

    Hey, very interesting blog…About spending money, I’m also on a tight budget, this is what helps me.

    I don’t use a credit/debit card. I’ll take my money that I allocated for the week and put that in a safe place in my house. Then I’ll put 7 divided by the total of what I took out for the week in my wallet, so I know I can’t spend more then that. Hope this helps, and good luck. If you are persistent with your goals you will achieve them.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

